Fire Department / Territory

The original Bluffton Fire Department was established November of 1879. In January of 2024, the department was restructured into a Fire Protection Territory that includes the City of Bluffton, Harrison Township, and Lancaster Township. This consolidation of governing bodies allows the cost of fire protection to be shared evenly amongst all taxpayers within the Fire Territory and provides more resources for it to serve the community.

The Fire Department is a combination firefighting and emergency medical services (EMS) organization that includes 14 full-time employees, up to 10 part-time employees, and up to 32 Paid-On call employees. Covering 96 square miles in Wells County, the Fire Territory provides firefighting and EMS non-transport services for residential, commercial, heavy industrial, light industrial, and agricultural areas.

The Fire Department currently maintains an ISO insurance rating of Class 4/4Y. All firefighters are certified by the state of Indiana, with training based on National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standards.

Services Provided:

  • BLS Non-Transport Medical Service
  • Confined Space Rescue
  • Fire Ground Operations
  • Fire Inspections
  • Search & Rescue
  • Vehicle Accident Mitigation
  • Fire Safety Education
  • Rope Rescue
  • Water Rescue
  • Hazardous Materials Response

Fire Inspections:

If you have questions regarding fire inspections, email Deputy Chief Chris Wolf or call 260-824-6050.

Firefighter Training:

Training is one of the most important things we do. With many state-certified instructors on staff, we are able to offer training sessions to many neighboring agencies. For more information, email Lieutenant of Training Operations Dane Zoda or call 260-824-6050.

Fire Chief
Don Craig
Deputy Fire Chief
Chris Wolf
Battalion Fire Chief
Brandon Mechling
Tim Franklin / Engineer/FF
Brian Ehrman / Engineer/FF
Ryan Stahly / Engineer/FF
Lt. Jim Platt / Engineer/FF
Dane Zoda / Engineer/FF
Kadin Gerber / Engineer FF
Taylon Elzey / Engineer/FF
Adam Hannie / Engineer / FF
Joshua Hall / Engineer / FF
Landon Eads / Engineer/FF
Caitlin Herndon / Engineer/FF
Cameron Rittmeyer / Engineer/FF
Mike Moriaity / Kelly Engineer
A Shift

Capt. Justin King

Lt.  Jordan Ehrman

Kyle Morphew

Denny Fiscus

Brad Nelson


B Shift

Capt.  Ryan Crist

Lt. Jeremy Heckel

Nathan Bueter

Alex Augsburger



C Shift

Lt. Justin Gerdom

Kelly Thompson

Mike Harris

Jeremy Wolf

Josh Moriarity

Matt Burkholder

Part-Time Firefighters:  Trenton Markley, Brianna Howe, Faith Liest, Alex Burkhart, Jonathon Temple, and Anthony Crossgrove.

Don Craig
Fire Chief
Bluffton Fire Territory
204 E Market Street
Bluffton, IN 46714
Phone: 260-824-6050
Fax: 260-824-2027
Email Chief Craig

In case of emergency dial 911.


National Fire Protection Association and Sparky the Fire Dog® needs you to join his fire safety team!


A Way to Say Thanks to Hoosier First Responders...